SOE Honors Students, Alumni, and Other Educators at 2021 Awards Ceremony

On Saturday, April 24, the SOE community gathered virtually to celebrate its 2021 awards, which recognized students, alumni, and other educators whose scholarship and work exemplify the school’s excellence and core values. The ceremony also honored a handful of 2020 award winners who had not been formally celebrated last year due to Covid-19.

In a kickoff speech, Dean Michelle D. Young offered a reminder about the importance of communal strength and harmony. ”Given the challenges our global community has faced this year, and the toll they have taken on many of our community members, it is particularly important that we pause and celebrate our accomplishments and successes,” she said.

The complete list of winners and honorees is below.

2020 Educator of the YearDr. Shawna Draxton

Executive Director, WISH Charter Schools

2021 Educator of the YearDr. Carl Cohn

Professor Emeritus, Claremont Graduate University

2020 Excellence in Educational Leadership AwardMatt Hill Ed.D. ’19

Superintendent, Burbank Unified School District

2021 Excellence in Educational Leadership AwardLaura McGowan-Robinson Ed.D. ’16

CEO and Founder, Diversity in Leadership Institute

2020 Doctoral Program Outstanding Educational Leader for Social Justice AwardLaura McGowan-Robinson Ed.D. ’16

CEO and Founder, Diversity in Leadership Institute

2021 Doctoral Program Outstanding Educational Leader for Social Justice AwardMartinque Starnes Ed.D. ’15

Director of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, Westside Neighborhood School

Outstanding Undergraduate in Elementary EducationSophia Farland
Outstanding Undergraduate in Secondary EducationShannon O’Kane
Undergraduate Scholar of the YearShannon O’Kane
Kenneth L. Moffett Bilingual Education AwardJosé Abraham Piña
Outstanding Graduate in Special EducationDanielle Santangelo
Outstanding Graduate in Reading InstructionJulianna Small
Outstanding Graduate in Urban EducationChristine Gutierrez
Outstanding Graduate in Educational StudiesNicole Ramirez
Outstanding Graduate in Elementary EducationKaren Thomas
Outstanding Graduate in Secondary EducationAlejandro Arroyo
Outstanding Graduate in Higher Education AdministrationYadira Enciso
Outstanding Graduate in Catholic EducationSamantha Burton
Outstanding Graduate in Guidance and CounselingRaheem Collins
Outstanding Graduate in School CounselingJoanne Chan
Outstanding Graduate in CounselingTaraneh Lipscomb
Outstanding Graduate in School PsychologyIlene Uriarte
Outstanding Graduate in School AdministrationKia Clark
Outstanding Graduate in the Doctoral ProgramLeyda W. Garcia
SOE Graduate Student of the YearLeyda W. Garcia