First-Year Dean Named to Leadership Posts for Several Education Organizations

Less than a year into her tenure as dean of the LMU School of Education, Michelle D. Young has earned several new honors and roles from professional organizations that sought out her expertise and leadership skills.

  • In August 2020, Young was named an Impact Academy Fellow by the group Deans for Impact, an organization of leaders committed to improving educator preparation.
  • In February 2021, she was appointed to a three-year term on the executive committee of the Council of Academic Deans from Research Education Institutions (CADREI), a non-profit organization that prepares educators for success and develops plans, policies, and programs that make its member institutions more effective.
  • In April 2021, she was elected to a three-year term for an executive committee of the American Education Research Association (AERA) that provides leadership and policy oversight for more than 170 of the organization’s special interest groups.
  • Also in April 2021, she was named to the Deans Council for the Carnegie Project for the Education Doctorate (CPED), a consortium of more than 100 colleges and schools of education that examine the Ed.D. degree through dialogue, feedback, and evaluation. 

”The education community has shown me a great deal of generosity throughout my career, and I’m honored to be of service to colleagues and peers around the country,” said Young. ”In these new roles, I’m also committed to turning LMU SOE’s founding belief—that education is a tool for equity and social justice—into concrete action. With the right knowledge and training, all educators can serve as change agents for a better future.”

In addition to these accolades, Young was also honored last fall with an Outstanding Paper of the Year citation as part of the 2020 Emerald Literati Awards. And in November 2020 she received The Jay D. Scribner Mentoring Award from the University Council for Educational Administration (UCEA), where she’d served as executive director for 19 years. Her term as president of the National Policy Board for Educational Administration (NPBEA), an alliance of educational organizations committed to the advancement of school and school-system leadership, ended in April 2021.